Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors are elected individuals who are responsible for the overall governance of Yallambee Traralgon Village for the Aged Inc. The Board’s responsibility is to establish the vision, mission, and values of the organisation, set the strategic direction, oversee the financial performance of the organisation and to oversee the risk-management strategy and risk-management performance. Our Directors have a diverse range of skills and experience with expertise in corporate business, finance, medical and nursing, and community care. The Board meet at least six times per year and individual members of the Board also sit on Board sub-committees within our organisation. The Board are aware of the increasing expectations and needs of our aged community and are entrusted with the role of governing and leading Yallambee into the future.

Photo of Victor de Beer

Victor de Beer

Board Chair

GradCert SocSC (Policy & Management), DipCommunity Welfare, DipBM

Victor is a Gippsland local. He has a strong commitment to social justice and has served the community in this field as a public servant for over 28 years. Victor also serves as a Board member of the Victorian Public Tenant’s Association and was previously a Board member of Gippsland Heritage Park. Victor was appointed for a third term to the position of Chairman in November 2023.

Victor also Chairs the Nominations Committee and the Strategic Planning Committee. Victor also sits on the Remuneration Committee and the Project Control Group

Photo of John Warren

John Warren

Deputy Chair

BSc Optometry, GradDip Ocular Therapeutics, GAICD

John has been a resident of the Latrobe Valley since establishing his optometry business in Traralgon in 1980. After 38 years in operation, John sold the thriving practice to practice part-time. After two years part-time, John retired in 2020. John continues contact with his professional peers and continues to make use of his private pilot’s license, flying within Australia and being actively involved with Latrobe Valley Aero Club where he was awarded a life membership. John was appointed for a third term to the position of Deputy Chair in November 2023.

John Chair’s the Remuneration Committee and sits as a member on the Quality Care Advisory Body and Corporate Governance Quality & Risk Committee.  John also represents the Yallambee Board on the Village Advisory Committee.

Photo of Roger Fitzgerald

Dr Roger Fitzgerald



Dr Fitzgerald is a retired General Practitioner having lived in Traralgon since 1983. Roger worked with the Breed Street Clinic from 1983 until his retirement in 2020 and in this capacity had provided medical services to Margery Cole Residential Aged Care for the duration of the time he worked in Traralgon. Roger was a Director of Deakin Medical Group from 1984 to 2017 and he was also a Director of Breed Street Nominees from 1984 to 2021.

Roger is a member of the Clinical Governance Quality & Risk Committee and also sits on the Nomination Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Photo of Nicholas Hutton

Nick Hutton



Nick is a director of a number of privately held and not-for-profit organisations. He has 30 years of experience delivering Business Systems and Information Technology Solutions, primarily through Business Analysis and Project & Programme Management roles. Nick has worked in a variety of Business and Information Technology Management Consulting and Leadership positions during his career. This has been with a wide range of Commercial, Government, and not-for-profit organisations in many sectors, primarily in the UK and Europe. He is a Member of the British Computer Society, Member of the Institute of Consulting, and a Member and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Nick is the Chair of the Corporate Governance Quality & Risk Committee and also sits on the Project Control Group.

Photo of Claire Kent

Claire Kent



Claire has lived and worked in Traralgon for over 30 years as a Registered Nurse. She currently holds the position of Director of Nursing at South Gippsland Hospital, Foster. Prior to this role, Claire held a number of nurse management and leadership positions at Latrobe Regional Hospital and completed additional postgraduate qualification in Health Management in 2014.  Claire is a Member of the Royal College of Nursing Australia and a Member of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation.

Claire Chairs the Quality Care Advisory Body (formerly the Clinical Governance Quality & Risk Committee).

Photo of Peter Pianta

Tim Pianta


GradDip Rail Operations Management

Tim is a long-time resident of Gippsland and lives with his family in Traralgon. He has worked most of his career in the Transport sector and is currently the Regional Manager for passenger rail for Gippsland. Tim has extensive experience in projects and leadership roles both in industry and with local community through his connections with sporting groups.

Tim sits on the Governance Quality & Risk Committee and on the Nominations Committee.


Owen Drummond



Owen currently works for TAFE Gippsland as the Manager Governance and Integrity and believes strongly in the benefits of community service. Owen has previously served on the Committee of Management for the Rosedale Neighbourhood House. Owen is an Associate of the Australian Institute of Governance.

Owen is Chair of the Project Control Group and sits on Corporate Governance Quality & Risk Committee and also the Remuneration Committee.

Mandy O'Neil

Mandy O'Neil


BHN, GradCert Health Service Management (Quality & Safety)

Growing up as a child holidaying on the Ninety Mile Beach and now residing in Gippsland, Mandy enjoys the country lifestyle, and the breathtaking place Gippsland is.

With over 15 years working in the health and aged care industry, Mandy brings a wealth of aged care knowledge and experience specifically related to quality care and services, compliance, and governance. Mandy has held senior management positions such as Acting General Manager of Quality and Innovation and most recently as an Aged Care Consultant specialising in Governance, Risk, Compliance and Policy. She is a Member of the Australian Institute of Clinical Governance and a Member of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation.

Mandy also has a registered nursing background and sits on the Quality Care Advisory Body.

Corporate publications

To review Yallambee’s current Strategic Plan visit our Reports & Publications page.